Day 695 – Just a quick brake down…

So it’s been a while since I last posted. This doesn’t mean nothing’s been happening, just I’ve not written about it!

Since the last post in July, the body continues to be worked on at the body shop. The work is taking a little longer than expected, as they want to make sure it’s up to their standards. The underside has been painted with stone chip, the seams have all been sealed and work is continuing on filling and then priming. They are taking care to ensure that all the lines are completely right. Hope to get some pictures of it in colour soon and then it will be back and ready for the refit! That’s when it gets scary as I’ll be constantly worried about scratching the paintwork!

In the meantime, I’ve stripped down the front suspension, king pins etc. and painted the parts with chassis paint to help keep the protected. I’ve also started stripping the rear axle by removing the half shafts. I plan to remove the brake back plates and get them blasted and powder coated before putting it back together. The shafts and splines all look good.

I took the time to measure the splines on the hubs to confirm they are in spec. According to information I found online (http://mgaguru.com/mgtech/wheels/wl104.htm) a new set of hubs measure 2.450″ across, good ones are 2.440″. All of mine fall in the range of 2.442″ – 2.445″ so better than good, which is great news. Plenty of life in them yet.

Something else I’ve had coated is the gearbox cross member. Before I took it for blasting and coating I carried out the modifications others have made to make reassembly easier. You’ll see from the picture at the top of this post the elongated slots and holes to enable it to be fitted to the mounts and still get the socket in place to do up the nuts. Should make reassembly easier.

Hopefully my next post will contain pictures of a freshly painted shell, fingers crossed.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑